Decade

A decade ago, I was planning my wedding. I was finalizing flower orders, rehearsal dinners, dress fittings. I thought I was ready for, up to that point, the best day of my life.

And it was. It’s cliche, and that’s fine, but I married my best friend and my soul mate, the guy that I love. I still count the minutes until he’s home from work, kiss him goodnight, hold his hand all the time.

A decade. It’s been a…wild ride? …an amazing journey? I don’t even know how to describe it.

A decade ago…
There was a little one bedroom apartment. There was no house, no mortgage and yard to mow. There was no choosing paint colors and decorating and worrying about maybe that was a leak, do you think that was a leak? A decade ago, there was no home, and now, there is.

A decade ago…
There was a daycare worker. There was no degree, no teacher. There was no drive to exceed the expectations of parents, principals, students, and the toughest critic, myself. There was no classroom, no worrying about standardized tests, no early morning bell ringing. A decade ago, there was no career, and now, there is.

A decade ago…
There was no daughter. No blonde, blue-eyed, laughing girl who collects every rock she sees and blows people away with her drawings. There were no constant questions and paint on the table and begging to stay up to watch just one more show. A decade ago, there was no Corinne Nicole, and now, there is.

A decade ago…
There were no sisters. No smiling, red-headed, freckles on her nose, sings her own astonishing songs, loves to dance ballet little girl. There were no doll clothes on the couch and imaginary princess balls and asking for just one more story before bed. A decade ago, there was no Ashlynn Cari, and now, there is.

A decade ago…
There was no son. No tiny giggling, car vrooming, booty dancing little boy. There were no naps in a lap and sloppy wet kisses and splashes in the tub. A decade ago, there was no Kamden Brant, and now, there is.

A decade ago…
There was a couple. There was no parenting, no homeowners, no diapers to change and whines to worry. A decade ago, there was love. But now there is more. Where there was a couple, now there is a family, full of love.

I can’t exactly describe what it was that happened at that altar ten years ago, on August 14th. It was more than words exchanged, rings put on fingers, a name changed. It was the creation of something wholly new, and wonderful, as a pebble is introduced to a pond, and the ripples of love continue to spread, after all this time, after a decade. My only wish is this…that they continue to do so.

Happy 10th Anniversary to my husband Kirk. I love you and the life we have created far beyond any words I could type here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. chicaandbubba
    Aug 05, 2014 @ 02:23:55

    Congratulations! My husband and I are coming up on our tenth anniversary too…one week earlier. I loved your post. I may have to borrow your idea and write my own!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

