Friday Journals

Hello All,

I’ve started to get my classroom ready for next year, and since I will have much smaller class sizes this year, I have decided to institute Friday journals.  I only want to do them once weekly because I feel that daily journals become too mundane and I just don’t get great responses.  

Each Friday, the students will come in and begin to journal about, basically, anything they wish.  I will set a timer and during that time, they must write, illustrate, or re-read past journal entries only.  Since there was nothing I hated more than writer;s block as a kid, I will give them a prompt on the smartboard each Friday, as well, although they are not required to use it if there is something else they’d like to write on.  It’s there to inspire them and to give them something to write about if they simply can’t think of anything.

Below is my list of weekly prompts.  I have culled and adapted them from all over the internet so they can be thought-provoking while still being school and age appropriate.  Many of them I wrote myself.  Please feel free to use these ideas or add more in the comments!

If you could change any one thing about school, what would it be and why?

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

If you had an opportunity to get a message across to a large group of people, what would your message be?

Is it possible to lie without saying a word?  Explain.

Do you think crying is a sign of weakness or strength?  Explain.

Would you break the law to save someone you love?

When was the last time you tried something new?

Which activities make you lose track of time?

If you HAD to teach something, what would you teach?

What makes you smile?

If you could make a 30 second speech to the entire world, what would you say?

What is something you could do to make someone’s day better?

What or who can always make you laugh?

If you could have you own TV show, what would it be about?  Who would be your co-stars?

If you could ask the president one question, what would it be and why?

If you could have ANY animal as a pet, what would it be?

Climbing trees is….

What are your favorite and least favorite holidays and why?

Tell me about your holiday break.

Write a thank you letter to someone who has been nice to you or helped you.

If you could talk to animals for a day, what questions would you like to ask them?

What would you do if you were in the middle of a lake and your boat sprung a leak? (I think this one is my favorite!)

If you could bring a character to life from a book or TV show, who would it be?

How do you know you love someone?  How do you show it?

How would our world be different if the dinosaurs still lived?

What would you do if you woke up in another country and nobody understood you?

If you could spend a week in any foreign country, where would you go?  Why?  What would you do?

What would you do if you were 100% lucky for one day?

If you were principal of the school, what would you do?

Tell me about your spring break.

If you could interview one historical figure, who would it be and what would you ask?

If you could travel back in time, what time period would you visit?

If you had $100, but couldn’t save it or spend it on yourself, what would you do with it?

Tell me about your happiest memory.

What did you think of this school year?

Tell me about your summer plans.

Leave a Reply

